Check out our Home Decor, Accessories & Clothing Store ~ Drops of Sunshine! SHOP HERE!

Stitch Fix Review March 2015

posted by Julie Evink on March 6, 2015

Stitch Fix March 2015 Review ~ Personalized Stylists Pick Out a Selection of Five Clothing Items or Accessories and Ship it to Your Doorstep!

Stitch Fix Review ~ Personalized Stylists Pick Out a Selection of Five Clothing Items or Accessories and Ship it to Your Doorstep!

Clothes handpicked by my own personal stylist and then delivered right to my doorstep. What could be better than that? For a busy working mother like me who lives in the middle of nowhere there really isn’t anything! I tend to get in a rut with fashion and am not one to be able to pick out great new looks so for me the concept of Stitch Fix is perfect. It’s convenient, fun and can be customized to fit my style and needs each month! I’m sharing my monthly “Fix” today in case you are curious about what comes in your box each month!


 

WHAT IS STITCH FIX?

First of all let’s discuss exactly what Stitch Fix is. When you sign up you are asked to fill out a style profile, where you specify your sizes, price range, shapes, styles and if you prefer colors or patterns. You can also provide a link to a Pinterest board like my Stitch Fix Board where I pin fashion that draws my eye. This helps your personal stylist that is assigned to you get an idea for what your fashion taste is. This is actually my second fix. I tried it a year ago and I wasn’t very impressed but decided to give it another try. This time I built a Pinterest board, updated my style profile and gave them more direction. I made sure to tell them that I had just had a baby three months ago and still wasn’t back to my “pre-pregnancy” weight or shape and if they could hide this that would be great! I also told them I was looking for items that would transition into spring nicely, but I live in Minnesota so nothing short-sleeved yet! Taking this extra time paid off and they really got what I was looking for. My advice to you is to get the most out of Stitch Fix you really need to put in a little time and give them some direction. It pays off!

When you sign up for Stitch Fix you will pick a date that you want your fix shipped. In your fix you will receive 5 items which includes clothing and accessory items that are hand-picked based on your style profile by your personal stylist. You can either schedule one delivery or sign up for automatic monthly or semi-monthly fixes. You are charged a $20 styling fee for each box, which also includes delivery and return. The styling fee will be applied as credit towards anything you keep from your box.

  MY OTHER RECIPES


After your items arrive you will have 3 days to try on all of your items and decided what to keep and what to send back. Then you log on to your account and tell them what you are keeping and what you are returning. Then check out to pay for the items. You will also be asked to leave feedback on the each item telling them if the fit, style and price was right. There is also a comment section where you can provide feedback for your stylist. Then return the items in a prepaid mailing bag that comes in the fix shipment. If your purchase all five items you will receive a 25% discount. That’s it!

March 2015 Stitch Fix Box:

Stitch Fix Review ~ Personalized Stylists Pick Out a Selection of Five Clothing Items or Accessories and Ship it to Your Doorstep!

Love the little card that your personal stylist fills out giving you ideas on how to wear each item you receive. There are also cards for each item that shows several other things like pants, scarves, jewelry etc. to match with the item.

Stitch Fix Review ~ Personalized Stylists Pick Out a Selection of Five Clothing Items or Accessories and Ship it to Your Doorstep!

 

Here it goes! Remember that I am not a fashion model, aspiring fashion blogger or anything like that. My hubs took the photos and he is not an aspiring photographer. Also, I had a baby three months ago so be kind.

(1) SKIES ARE BLUE Sean Crochet Detail Top$54.00

Stitch Fix March 2015 Review ~ Personalized Stylists Pick Out a Selection of Five Clothing Items or Accessories and Ship it to Your Doorstep!

First of all these black pants I wore in the photos need to go to the grave I’ve decided. I used to love them and have now decided they are not flattering in any sort of way. Please ignore them. I decided to keep this. After a good ironing this shirt will be a staple of my wardrobe this spring. I also tried it on with skinny jeans and boots to give me some shape and it looked much better! I like that it’s loose and flowing for those days we aren’t feeling so skinny, which we all have right?

 (2) MARKET & SPRUCE Corinna Striped Dolman Top $48.00

Stitch Fix Review ~ Personalized Stylists Pick Out a Selection of Five Clothing Items or Accessories and Ship it to Your Doorstep!

I wasn’t sure about this top. The fabric is a little more clingy that I would like. I loved the fact that it was 3/4 length sleeves and the band around the sleeve. I actually decided to keep this one because I think it is something I will wear often at work and after looking at the photos it really grew on me.

 (3) PIXLEY #5184-086 Ivy Petal Print Blouse $58.00

Stitch Fix Review ~ Personalized Stylists Pick Out a Selection of Five Clothing Items or Accessories and Ship it to Your Doorstep!

This is by far my favorite item of this fix. Love, Love, Love it. I find it super flattering and the print is a little out of what I would usually get but that’s why I signed up for these fixes. I want to get out of my box. My husband asked if it was cartoon characters on it. I may have rolled my eyes and said to be quiet. He knows nothing. Nothing. I also found it funny this was his least favorite. Men. I’m super excited to be able to break this out with the warming temperatures this spring. I also decided skinny jeans don’t look half bad and I need to wear them more often!

 (4) LIVERPOOL Raphael Denim Jacket $88.00

(5) LOOK BY M Nathan Tread Pattern Infinity Scarf $28.00

Stitch Fix Review ~ Personalized Stylists Pick Out a Selection of Five Clothing Items or Accessories and Ship it to Your Doorstep!

Both the jean jacket and scarf are being returned. I liked the scarf but I didn’t think it worked with anything in the box nor did I have anything in the closet that was calling it’s name. I love scarves but this just didn’t work. The jean jacket was to tight in the shoulders and also in the arms. I’m built like a linebacker so I run into this quite frequently. I would love a jean jacket but I have never been able to find one that doesn’t have this problem. I also couldn’t stomach the price tag on it. I’ll be honest.

 JULIE’S THOUGHTS:

The winners from this box were #1 (Sean Crochet Detail Top) #2 (Corinna Striped Dolman Top) and #3 (Ivy Petal Print Blouse).

Overall, I’m very glad I gave Stitch Fix a second chance and took the time to give my stylist an insight to my likes and wants. The sizing was almost perfect other than the jean jacket, which doesn’t surprise me. The items I received reminded me of what I would get at a boutique store and this is the look I’m going for. Unfortunately I live in the middle of nowhere so I don’t want to take a day and search for items two hours away from me. This gives me cute clothes and no time spent on it. It’s a win for me. The prices were more than I would typically spend, but the fact that I don’t have to take an entire day, drive and hunt for clothes allows me to pay a little more. My time is worth money! I can’t wait for my next fix!

If you want to try Stitch Fix, go here to sign up!

Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored post. I signed up for Stitch Fix and purchased the box myself. I’m sharing my opinions because I think they will help others. This post does contain referral links for new sign-ups that gives me a small credit towards my next box.

Get your free eCookbook

Make sure you don’t miss any of the fun stuff Julie’s Eats & Treats is up to!

Follow Along On Snapcat RSS/Subscribe On Pinterest On Bloglovin On Instagram On Twitter On Facebook On YouTube
filed under Reviews, Stitch Fix, Uncategorized
tagged with

    Comments

  • Danielle


    LOVE the pixley top and how you styled it with skinnies and boots. Tell the hubs he doesn’t know what he is talking about! Lol and glad you are ditching the black pants. 😉

  • Amber @ Caleighs Kitchen


    I love stitch fix! I think that grey striped dolman sweater will grow on you. It’s SUPER comfy. I actually have one in that color and blue and black. They are my favs because I can wear them to work or lounging with sweatpants! Also…I need that last shirt with the cartoon characters on it! 🙂 For real!

    • Julie Evink


      I’ve got it on right now and I love it and yes.. the cartoon characters. Men.

  • Stephanie


    I would love to see the pink with no scarf, white tank under and paired with the jeans and brown boots.

  • Ashley | The Recipe Rebel


    That printed top is definitely my favorite too! So pretty!

  • Kelly


    I love the Pixley top on you! And I agree- skinny jeans look amazing on you too!

  • Ashley C.


    I am so glad that you loved your fix! Everything looks great on you. I definitely agree with everything you kept. Beautiful pieces, I can’t wait to see what you get in your next box!

  • Kelly - Life Made Sweeter


    What a great first box! I love the pieces you kept, the crochet and petal print top look so pretty on you! Can’t wait to see your next review!

  • Renee@Two in the Kitchen


    Such cute pieces! I really liked the gray striped shirt on you. And you rock in skinny jeans for sure!!

  • Jaren (Diary of a Recipe Collector)


    I love the whole idea of Stitch Fix! Those tops are so cute! Love the Pixley top!

  • KK


    You look really good! Love that you paired the fun top with skinny jeans and the boots. I think you should try the skies are blue top with skinny jeans too! I agree, those black pants are not flattering to you at all, you really do look great, and those do not show it at all. You got it girl! I like the grey and black on you. I am not a fan of 3/4 length sleeves, but sometimes they look good, and it does on this top! I am loving my fixes too!!

    • Julie Evink


      Thanks you! I can’t wait for my next one!

  • Marissa


    If you don’t mind me asking, which price range box did you sign up for? Thanks

  • Trackbacks

  • Trackback from Stitch Fix Review April 2015 - Julie's Eats & Treats
    Tuesday, 7 April, 2015

    […]  After your items arrive you will have 3 days to try on all of your items and decided what to keep and what to send back. Then you log on to your account and tell them what you are keeping and what you are returning. Then check out to pay for the items. You will also be asked to leave feedback on the each item telling them if the fit, style and price was right. There is also a comment section where you can provide feedback for your stylist. Then return the items in a prepaid mailing bag that comes in the fix shipment. If your purchase all five items you will receive a 25% discount. That’s it! To learn more about how Stitch Fix works and to read the reviews of my other fixes click below: Stitch Fix Review – March 2013 […]

Leave a Comment

Your email is never shared.
Required fields are marked *